About my new novel, Dinnusos Rises

So I am having my second novel published by Elsewhen Press!

Now that it has been announced, I can tell you a few things about it.

d-frontDinnusos Rises is going to be my indirect sequel to The Janus Cycle. So if you have not read the first book it will be possible to jump straight into this story (although if you do plan on reading both I would advise it would be much more rewarding to read them in the correct order).

It is based in the same universe – a return to the off-beat, weirder, quirkier version of our own present-day world I created for The Janus Cycle – and it is in a similar vein. It even has the same structure of eight chapters, all narrated by different characters who end up crossing paths during a cataclysmic event at the end of the story.

But there are many differences.

I have always been quite open about the fact that The Janus Cycle was a semi-biographical novel. This new book, while it does still contain echoes from my past, is more about the characters coming into their own and living out their own stories.

I see it as a more mature novel. Just as I am older now, the characters are too. One of the principal themes of The Janus Cycle was personal identity and the structures we live within which pressure people into submitting into stifling societal norms. During that story most of the characters manage to break free, liberate and find themselves (as well as each other). This book is about what happens after. It is about cultural identity. Less about I and more about the we.

There are also going to be some new voices. Of the eight characters who were the primary focus of The Janus Cycle, only three of them are returning again as actual narrators (although most of the others will make an appearance at some point). There were some secondary characters in the first book whom I felt deserved their own chance to shine (and even, in a couple of cases, redeem themselves), and it is they who are going to take the reins in Dinnusos Rises. It is very much a novel of sonder. Where I explore the notion that everyone is complex and has their own story to tell.

I will not say too much more – because I want those of you who read it to discover the rest for yourselves – but, if you haven’t already guessed from the title, there are going to be some Bacchic themes, and those of you who are familiar with the works of Carl Jung and his theory of the Collective Unconscious might find some of the other ideas explored interesting.

I hope it is as much of a pleasure for you to read as it was for me to write.

Dinnusos Rises will be published in a digital edition in April 2017 and as a paperback in July 2017.

Turner, Tej: The Janus Cycle (2015)

Review of The Janus Cycle on Humanitysdarkerside.


The Janus Cycle by Tej Turner Cover art: Alison Buck

A common theme in all of these short stories seems to be bullying of one sort or another. Needing to dominate others is part of our human history. Countries bully other countries into subservience and oblivion. Two countries are well-known for their tendencies to bully militarily weaker countries while decrying other nations when these do the same. Tej Turner shows us the one-on-one form of bullying and the mob-on-one kind of bullying in his semi-short stories.

All of these short stories are more or less stand alone stories. They are all tied together by Frelia. Frelia has an interesting power that could cause her death if the ones who “rule” it find out about her having that power. But bullies have been part of Frelia’s past and she will not be forced into obedience just because some mysterious stranger tells her she has to. That decision…

View original post 302 more words